Here’s my list of the best Teen books I read in 2006, in no particular order. I’m too lazy to link to reviews, but most are (or will be soon) on the review list (http://tbrlist.blogspot.com). It’s a lot of books (36 by my count), but my criteria for these was that I not only remembered off the top of my head (meaning: no list in front of me) that I enjoyed this book, I also remembered why.

Born Again by Kelly Kearney
How It’s Done by Christine Kole Maclean
Notes From The Teenage Underground by Simmone Howell
Behind the Eyes by Francisco X. Stork
The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor
Story of a Girl by Sara Zarr
Pop! by Aury Wallington
Terrier by Tamora Pierce
Stay With Me by Garrett Freymann-Weyr
Bleed by Laurie Faria Stolarz
Hazing Meri Sugarman by M. Apostolina
Such A Pretty Girl by Laura Wiess
Bass Ackwards and Belly Up by Elizabeth Craft and Sarah Fain
Tallulah Falls by Christine Fletcher
Dear Zoe by Philip Beard
An Abundance of Katherines by John Green
Major Crush by Jennifer Echols
Devilish by Maureen Johnson
Upstate by Kalisha Buckhannon
Glass Houses by Rachel Caine
Gideon the Cutpurse by Linda Buckley-Archer
How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff
Wide Awake by David Levithan
Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan
Magic Lessons by Justine Larbalestier
Adios to my Old Life by Caridad Ferrer
Enthusiasm by Polly Shulman
Plan B by Jenny O’Connell
Bras and Broomsticks by Sarah Mlynowski
Wuthering High by Cara Lockwood
Lulu Dark Can See Through Walls by Bennett Madison
Avalon High by Meg Cabot
Piratica by Tanith Lee
Nothing But The Truth (And A Few White Lies) by Justina Chen Headley
The Blue Girl by Charles de Lint
See You Down The Road by Kim Ablon Whitney
Fringe Girl by Valerie Frankel

I’ve noticed a few topics that have come up over and over again in my reading this year. One is the consequences of sex for teenagers. I’m talking about stuff beyond pregnancy or AIDS; I’m talking about the consequences for relationships, self-esteem, stuff like that. A few books on this theme that I enjoyed are Good Girls by Laura Ruby, Pop! by Aury Wallington, and Story of a Girl by Sara Zarr.

Another, less heavy theme that I’ve been seeing is books that are an inside look at life in the spotlight, either because the main character is a celebrity or they’re related to one. These include Tales of a Hollywood Gossip Queen by Mary Kennedy, Secrets of My Hollywood Life by Jen Calonita, Sheer Bliss by Frances O’Brien, My Life Starring Mum by Chloe Rayban, and Adios to My Old Life by Caridad Ferrer.

One more trend is toward vampire books! Off the top of my head, I can think of Boys That Bite by Mari Mancusi, High School Bites by Liza Conrad, and Braced2Bite by Serena Robar (though I haven’t read this one yet, it’s on my wish list). I guess this isn’t unusual, though; vampires have always been popular in books, movies, and television. Just look at the success of the TV shows Buffy and Angel (me, I’m an addict…I watch the reruns on FX and TNT all the time now that they’re over)!

I’m curious to hear about your favorite books of the year and any trends you’ve noticed. Leave a comment or send me a message!