April & May 2007 Reading Lists

As I am very behind on, well, everything (and there are reasons but I don’t want to go into it here), I’ve combined these two posts into one.

April:

My top pick for April:
The Brief History of the Dead by Kevin Brockmeier (which is technically an adult book but is just so wonderful!)

The top SIX runners-up (I couldn’t pick five this month!):
Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCafferty (the others in this series are of course brilliant, too, but I’ll just list this one)
Buried Onions by Gary Soto
The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner
While I Live by John Marsden
Princess Nevermore by Dian Curtis Regan
I Was A Teenage Popsicle by Bev Katz Rosenbaum

In April, I read 23 books. They are as follows, with stars for those rating over a 9/10:

Truth and Salsa by Linda Lowery
The Broken Bike Boy and the Queen of 33rd Street by Sharon G Flake
Hex Education by Emily Gould and Zareen Jaffery
Bass Ackwards and Belly Up by Elizabeth Craft and Sarah Fain* (reread)
Pants on Fire by Meg Cabot
The Brief History of the Dead by Kevin Brockmeier*
A Sudden Silence by Eve Bunting
Red Handed by Gena Showalter
Blacklisted by Gena Showalter
The Hollywood Sisters: On Location by Mary Wilcox
Sloppy Firsts by Megan McCafferty*
Second Helpings by Megan McCafferty*
Charmed Thirds by Megan McCafferty* (reread)
Buried Onions by Gary Soto*
The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner*
While I Live by John Marsden *
Princess Nevermore by Dian Curtis Regan*
The Warrior’s Daughter by Holly Bennett
I Was A Teenage Popsicle by Bev Katz Rosenbaum*
Huge by Sasha Paley
Sk8er Boy by Mari Mancusi*
Into the Void (Pandora’s Box Trilogy Book One) by Adam Teachout
Cam’s Quest by Dian Curtis Regan*

May

May was the worst reading month yet for me, numbers-wise (but I’m hoping I’ll read a lot while on vacation this month to make up for it). I might actually be missing a few here as I was ALSO bad at keeping track of what I read, but I only wrote down twelve books.

Top Pick:
First Light by Rebecca Stead

Runners-up (just three as I only read twelve books):
The Queen of Attolia
The King of Attolia
The Nature of Jade

Blue Bloods by Melissa de la Cruz* (reread)
Masquerade by Melissa de la Cruz*
Playing the Field by Phil Bildner
The Nature of Jade by Deb Caletti*
The Queen of Attolia by Megan Whalen Turner*
The King of Attolia by Megan Whalen Turner*
First Light by Rebecca Stead*
It’s Not About The Accent by Caridad Ferrer
To Catch A Pirate by Jade Parker
Heaven Looks A Lot Like The Mall by Wendy Mass
Sofi Mendoza’s Guide to Getting Lost in Mexico by Malin Alegria
Defining Dulcie by Paul Acampora

UPDATE:
I will be on a plane to London on Thursday. I’ll be visiting several places in England, and then Southern Spain. I’m very excited about this trip, but I won’t have internet while I’m gone! Send me an email or leave me a comment or a message somewhere, but just know I won’t get back to you until at least the end of this month. However, I’ll be bringing lots of books along to read and I’ll have reviews for you when I get back!