So, 2007 is almost over. I read some great stuff this year, but unfortunately I didn’t make my goal of 365 books. So I guess it’s my goal again for next year, but that’s another post (reading goals for 2008). I have a confession to make: I forgot to keep track of the books I read past about September. As you may have noticed, due to a lack of reading lists. But I’d like to go ahead and mention some that really resonated with me personally, limited to first-time reads (as I did reread a few favorites). There are so, so many more that I adored, but these are the ones I remember well even months later, the ones I’m eager to reread as I make this list, and the ones that really made me think. It’s a long list, but I had to cut a lot of great books out! Series books that I read all of this year are listed together. Before I start the long, long list, though, I’d like to mention my “shortlist” of my top ten (well, it’s more, but they’re listed by entry with series together). This was really hard to narrow down, but if you don’t want to look at the whole long list, check this one out. I have also decided on a best book of the year:

The best book I read in 2007 is Ophelia, by Lisa Klein.

  1. Ophelia by Lisa Klein
  2. Set in Stone by Linda Newbery
  3. Sloppy Firsts, Second Helpings, Charmed Thirds and Fourth Comings by Megan McCafferty
  4. The Thief, The Queen of Attolia, and The King of Attolia by Megan Whalen Turner
  5. The Nature of Jade by Deb Calletti
  6. Sammy and Juliana in Hollywood by Benjamin Alire Saenz
  7. Sweethearts by Sara Zarr
  8. A Place Called Here by Cecelia Ahern (Edited to add: the American title–I read the British edition–is There’s No Place Like Here.)
  9. Red edited by Amy Goldwasser
  10. Home of the Brave by Katherine Applegate
  • Sloppy Firsts, Second Helpings, Charmed Thirds and Fourth Comings by Megan McCafferty
  • Ophelia by Lisa Klein
  • Set in Stone by Linda Newbery
  • The Big Shuffle by Laura Pedersen
  • The Sledding Hill by Chris Crutcher
  • Kitty Goes Californian by Pepper McNeil
  • Girl At Sea by Maureen Johnson
  • My Secret and Postsecret, edited by Frank Warren
  • The Poker Diaries by Liza Conrad
  • Rock My World by Liza Conrad
  • Does My Head Look Big In This? By Randa Abdel-Fattah
  • Looking For Alibrandi by Melina Marchetta
  • The Brief History Of The Dead by Kevin Brockmeier
  • Buried Onions by Gary Soto
  • The Thief, The Queen of Attolia, and The King of Attolia by Megan Whalen Turner
  • While I Live by John Marsden
  • Princess Nevermore by Dian Curtis Regan
  • The Nature of Jade by Deb Caletti
  • First Light by Rebecca Stead
  • Sammy and Juliana In Hollywood by Benjamin Alire Saenz
  • Memoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac by Gabrielle Zevin
  • The Silenced by James DeVita
  • Boy Toy by Barry Lyga
  • Boy Proof by Cecil Castellucci
  • Sweethearts by Sara Zarr
  • Harley, Like A Person by Cat Bauer
  • In The Garage by Alma Fullerton
  • The Straight Road To Kylie by Nico Medina
  • A Place Called Here by Cecelia Ahern
  • The City, Not Long After by Pat Murphy
  • Prep by Curtis Sittenfeld
  • Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by JK Rowling
  • Secret Society Girl and Under The Rose by Diana Peterfreund
  • Gentle’s Holler and Louisiana’s Song by Kerry Madden
  • Book of a Thousand Days by Shannon Hale
  • Extras by Scott Westerfeld
  • Dragon Slippers by Jessica Day George
  • Evolution, Me, And Other Freaks of Nature by Robin Brande
  • The Kings Are Already Here by Garret Freymann-Weyr
  • Life As It Comes by Anne-Laure Bondoux
  • Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer
  • Naomi and Ely’s No Kiss List by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan
  • Red, edited by Amy Goldwasser
  • Leap of Faith by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley
  • Home of the Brave by Katherine Applegate
  • Or Not by Brian Mandabach
  • Reaching For Sun by Tracie Vaughn Zimmer
  • Go Figure by Jo Edwards
  • Snitch by Allison van Diepen
  • Deadline by Chris Crutcher

I reserve the right to add anything I read/think of before January 2nd :-) I hope that gives everyone some ideas to spend their Christmas gift cards on!