First of all, I’d like to direct you all to an interesting article about cover design at Publishing Trends. After you read that, I’d like to remind you to take a look at Jacket Whys for more thoughts on and trends in cover design, these being specifically YA.

These next few links aren’t strictly book-related, but they could be helpful if you write. I know a lot of you readers are probably also writers. I know I am, and I like to have pictures of my characters when I write. I don’t know why, but it helps. I draw them sometimes, or cut them out of magazines, but I just found a really cool site where you can create a face without much effort, the Ultimate Flash Face! Aside from being helpful, it’s also a lot of fun. If you’re asked who would play your characters in a movie, may suggest Stardoll? It’s a sort of virtual paper doll site. You can also create people on there, but it’s more cartoon-y and less realistic than the Ultimate Flash site. Also, this one is totally off-topic, but I’ve been on kind of a Picasso kick lately. Who doesn’t love Picasso? On Mr. Picassohead, you can drag and drop elements from his paintings to create your own Picasso! Great fun, if not exactly relevant.

There’s an interview with Melissa Marr that I really enjoyed over at Yapping about YA.  I loved Wicked Lovely–check out my review soon!

You’ve got to check out MotherReader’s roundup of all sorts of great posts about the ALA awards.