Created by Eva at A Striped Armchair.

Which book do you irrationally cringe away from reading, despite seeing only positive reviews? The Book Thief by Markus Zusak. I really will read it soon, I promise! Everyone absolutely gushes about this book, but I have yet to be able to bring myself to read it. Maybe I’m afraid of disappointment?

If you could bring three characters to life for a social event (afternoon tea, a night of clubbing, perhaps a world cruise), who would they be and what would the event be?
I love travelling so, regardless of the characters, we’ll be going around the world! Although, you know, if you asked me tomorrow, my list would probably be different, but today I pick Aly from the Trickster series by Tamora Pierce, because, well, she’s awesome, Artemis Fowl because I am just so fascinated by his character, and, anyway, nothing would be boring with him around, and Fred Weasley because Fred is amazing and I would take any chance to bring him back from the dead!

(Borrowing shamelessly from the Thursday Next series by Jasper Fforde): you are told you can’t die until you read the most boring novel on the planet. While this immortality is great for awhile, eventually you realise it’s past time to die. Which book would you expect to get you a nice grave? I’ve been meaning to read Jasper Fforde’s series….Anyway, I imagine it would probably be some 1000-page plotless novel, but I am afraid none are coming to mind at the moment.

Come on, we’ve all been there. Which book have you pretended, or at least hinted, that you’ve read, when in fact you’ve been nowhere near it? Hmm….I don’t know if this really counts, but I have been known to have pretended to read various reading assignments for English without ever opening the book.

As an addition to the last question, has there been a book that you really thought you had read, only to realise when you read a review about it/go to ‘reread’ it that you haven’t? Which book? I don’t know of any at the moment.

You’re interviewing for the post of Official Book Advisor to some VIP (who’s not a big reader). What’s the first book you’d recommend and why? (if you feel like you’d have to know the person, go ahead of personalise the VIP) Hmm…Ophelia, by Lisa Klein, is one I often cite as my favorite book, but the real answer is much more complicated than that! However, I do think anyone would enjoy that book, so I’ll go ahead and recommend it. It has everything a good book needs!

A good fairy comes and grants you one wish: you will have perfect reading comprehension in the foreign language of your choice. Which language do you go with? Spanish. I am at least proficient in Spanish, but to be able to read a book or magazine in the language without knowing or caring where my dictionary is would be wonderful!

A mischievious fairy comes and says that you must choose one book that you will reread once a year for the rest of your life (you can read other books as well). Which book would you pick? Ophelia, by Lisa Klein. As I said, this is one of my favorites. I would love to be able to do lots of rereading, guilt-free, starting with this, but I can’t; there’s so much new stuff I’ve got to read for one reason or another!

I know that the book blogging community, and its various challenges, have pushed my reading borders. What’s one bookish thing you ‘discovered’ from book blogging (maybe a new genre, or author, or new appreciation for cover art-anything)? There’s a lot that I’ve discovered! New books, mostly. I could seriously go on and on, but I  guess I’ll just say that it was through the blogging community that I learned about Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr, a recent favorite of mine.

That good fairy is back for one final visit. Now, she’s granting you your dream library! Describe it. Is everything leatherbound? Is it full of first edition hardcovers? Pristine trade paperbacks? Perhaps a few favourite authors have inscribed their works? Go ahead-let your imagination run free. My dream library has floor-to-ceiling shelves all around it (and those are high shelves–I have a ladder) with every book I ever wish for (it’s a magic fairy. So who says I can’t have a magical library?), and all are kept organised by the magic so I can find them when I need to! There’s also a fireplace that lights itself (as I am not good with fire. See: incident in my grandmother’s bathroom with a big candle), a big comfy sofa, an armchair, a table to set books on, and a mini-fridge so that I don’t have to leave my reading when I get thirsty!

And now, let’s say everyone has to tag four people (more than that becomes a hassle, imho) I tag…

Ritka’s Ramblings (Maggie), Miss Erin (Erin), The Shady Glade (Alyssa), and The Page Flipper (Chelsea).