Here’s the full list of winners of the 2007 Cybils awards:

Fantasy/Sci Fi: The True Meaning of Smekday by Adam Rex (MG) and Book of a Thousand Days by Shannon Hale (YA)

Fiction Picture Book: The Chicken-Chasing Queen of Lamar County by Janice N. Harrington

Graphic Novel: Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel by Eoin Colfer and Andrew Donkin (MG) and The Professor’s Daughter by Joann Sfar (YA)

Middle Grade Fiction: A Crooked Kind Of Perfect by Linda Urban

Non-Fiction: Tasting The Sky: A Palestinian Childhood by Ibtisam Barakat (MG/YA)  and Lightship by Brian Floca (Picture Book)

Poetry: This is Just to Say: Poems of Apology and Forgiveness by Joyce Sidman

Young Adult Fiction: Boy Toy by Barry Lyga

I’ve not read all of those (and will never read the picture books or probably the graphic novels), but those I have read–A Crooked Kind of Perfect, Book of a Thousand Days, and Boy Toy–are great.

A Crooked Kind of Perfect wasn’t my favorite of the MG books (my favorite didn’t make the shortlist), but it totally deserved to win. It’s a fantastic book that will appeal to lots of different people, and, of course, appealing to the target audience is very important (and a big reason that my favorite wasn’t on the shortlist!), so I’m quite happy with this outcome. Big congratulations to Linda Urban!

Book of a Thousand Days is wonderful as well, and I do think it deserves to win. I was a little more iffy on this one, though–while I loved it, it wasn’t totally mind-blowing, just awesome. But maybe that’ just me, and, honestly, nothing that deserved the award more is coming to mind.

Boy Toy is really amazing, and I’m neither surprised nor disappointed with its winning the award.  It certainly did stand out among 2007 YA books, and although there are a few others that resonated more with me personally, I still thought this book was marvelous.