Today’s guest blogger is the incredibly awesome Maryrose Wood! She is the author of Why I Let My Hair Grow Out, How I Found the Perfect Dress, Sex Kittens and Horn Dawgs Fall In Love, and My Life: The Musical.  And today’s winner, of an audiobook of Liz Gallagher’s The Opposite of Invisible, is book~adorer. Please email me with your mailing address to claim your prize! And now, without further ado, today’s fantastic guest blog.

What makes a “perfect dress” perfect?

Who hasn’t dreamed of finding the “perfect” dress? A dress that makes you feel like the most confident, irresistible creature on the face of the earth. A dress that is pretty, but not too frilly or little-girly. Sexy, yet sophisticated. Stunning, yet affordable.

Does such an item exist? I wish I knew! Personally I’ve always found it a struggle to choose clothes for special occasions. Sometimes I get my act together, go shopping in advance and have an outfit ready and waiting for me in the closet.

Then, on the day of the big event, I put it on and it mysteriously looks all wrong. Or I realize I don’t have the right shoes to go with it — or the right bra! This is not a good discovery to make when you have to be someplace in an hour.

One time I bought a chic little black number specifically to wear to a memorial service. When I put it on, I realized it showed WAY too much cleavage for the occasion. Why hadn’t that been evident in the dressing room at Loehmann’s? I’m not sure, but at the last minute I had to scramble to find something else. (Fortunately, the cleavage dress was just the thing for a film premiere a month later!)

One solution would be to always bring someone you trust when you go shopping. Someone with the twenty-twenty vision to tell you, “I’m seeing way too much ta-ta!” before you head to the cashier! One of my favorite scenes in HOW I FOUND THE PERFECT DRESS is the one where Morgan and her former best friend, now somewhat-on-the-outs pal Sarah go dress shopping together. Sarah thinks they’re searching for dresses for the junior prom, while Morgan’s searching for a clue that will help her undo the enchantment that’s threatening to turn her true love Colin into a permanently exhausted wreck. As fate (or the faeries) would have it, her search takes her straight to the mall.

Before Morgan finds the “perfect dress,” she rediscovers what it means to have a real “BFF”-style best friend like Sarah. A friend who roots for you harder than you root for yourself. One who knows all your excuses and isn’t afraid to call you on them. Best of all, she knows how to make you laugh until it hurts, even when you’re dealing with major problems, like figuring out how to take a nasty spell off the guy you love!

When Morgan does find a magically “perfect” dress, it’s everything a girl could wish for. “It’s the nicest dress in the store,” the bewildered clerk tells her, “but it didn’t fit anyone until you walked in.” It’s even on sale!

But looking like a goddess in a knock-out dress doesn’t solve any of Morgan’s problems. In fact, the “perfect” dress she buys isn’t even the dress she ends up wearing to her junior prom. An unforeseen disaster means she has to come up with a new outfit at the last minute (gosh, who does that remind you of?). But she ends up having a pretty “perfect” evening anyway, albeit in a totally unexpected way.

What would your “perfect dress” look like? How would it make you feel? Would it be one that made you look a different size or shape than you think you really are? Older, maybe? More fashion-forward? More elegant — or more edgy?

Whatever quality you imagine a “perfect” dress could reveal about you, don’t forget: it’s already in your power to bring all those wonderful, complex and contradictory aspects of yourself forward so the world can see them and celebrate the many facets of who you really are. That’s true no matter what you’re wearing.

But when you do find a knock-out dress, learn from my mistakes! Make sure you have the right shoes (and bra!) to go with it, okay?

Thanks to Jocelyn for inviting me to guest blog! Don’t forget, one random commenter gets a signed copy of HOW I FOUND THE PERFECT DRESS. So tell me what’s in your closets, people! Tell me your best shopping-with-your-BFF stories! Your worst fashion disaster stories! What was your most perfect outfit ever, and why?

xoxo
m