It would appear that I am just full of things to share today, wouldn’t it?

The ALA Teens’ Top Ten have been announced. This list is voted on by over 8,000 teens, and the books that they’ve chosen are:

  1. Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer
  2. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling
  3. Diary of a Wimpy Kid by Jeff Kinney
  4. Vampire Academy by Rachel Mead
  5. Maximum Ride: Saving the World and Other Extreme Sports by James Patterson
  6. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare
  7. The Sweet Far Thing by Libba Bray
  8. Extras by Scott Westerfeld
  9. Before I Die by Jenny Downham
  10. Twisted by Laurie Halse Anderson

While I haven’t read all of these books, I think this list serves as a good example of popularity not equalling literary quality. I mean, really, Eclipse? I wasn’t surprised by this list, just a little disappointed in the taste of some of my fellow teens. Sure, I had fun reading Eclipse, but is it better than even some of the books further down this list (Extras, for example)? I think not.

Anyway, I also stumbled upon a website called TeenVoices. It seems to be kind of like Teen Ink, except less awesome. And only for girls. But, perhaps worth looking into. I enjoyed some of the articles.