I’ve just discovered Booking Through Thursday, and I think it’s a wonderful idea. Every Thursday, a question is posed on this blog, and answered by loads of book lovers around the internet. I’d like to start including myself in that number!

btt button

This week’s question is as follows:

Mariel suggested this week’s question.

“Are you a spine breaker? Or a dog-earer? Do you expect to keep your books in pristine condition even after you have read them? Does watching other readers bend the cover all the way round make you flinch or squeal in pain?”

I love my books. I don’t just love the words in them; I also love the books themselves. They’re starting to take over my bedroom, because I have such difficulty getting rid of them.

This sentimental attachment to a whole class of inanimate objects means that I hate seeing books mistreated. I try to keep all of my books in good condition–no dog-earing and spine-breaking here–though I know that perfection is largely unacheviable in all areas of life, book treatment included. I try not to lend my books to people who will mistreat them (my mother forces me to make exceptions for my less-than-literary fifteen year old brother sometimes because she wants him to actually pick up a book), and everyone who borrows from my library (which literally has more young adult fiction than the YA section of the local public library) is treated to a short lecture on how to handle books.

My stacks make some book damages unavoidable; for example, my cat jumped last week on a teetering pile of books, and, in the resulting destruction, a book’s cover was bent. Age also shows on some of my books; some of these favorites have been in my personal library for more than ten years, and they are understandably battered and sometimes bent or ripped. These losses are mourned, but, as I said, unavoidable.

These rules, however, apply almost exclusively to narratives read by choice. When I have reference books or books for school, I dog ear, underline, and highlight–I find it necessary sometimes. But for the old favorites that I have such a deep attachment to, I’d never dream of doing such things!

What about you?