I am, once again, inspired by Steph at Reviewer X and Girl Week and a contest entry. This time, it’s Christine Fletcher’s guest blog that’s got me thinking! Her post is all about historical fiction and why historical fiction’s heroines rock. Basically, she says, lots of interesting stuff can happen because young adults then were more independent than young adults now, and, as a generalization, I’d say she might be right. It’s a really interesting read, you can check it out here.

As something of a counter-point, I’d like to offer up Sarah Miller’s musings about the heroines of historical fiction, who, she argues, while awesome, are more contemporary in nature than historical. Also true, perhaps. Honestly, I think both Christine and Sarah are right. Anyway, check out Sarah’s post here

Anyway, that blog post has inspired me to post about some of my favorite historical fiction, just in case you’re doing some last minute holiday shopping for a reader and/or history buff. I don’t read as much historical fiction as I used to (it was my favorite when I was about twelve…and earlier than that, I loved the American Girl books). 

First on the list is Christine Fletcher’s own historical book, Ten Cents A Dance, which is absolutely gorgeous. The setting, the voice, the atmosphere, the everything! Love it. 

Bloody Jack and the rest of L.A. Meyer’s series (which I’ve been meaning to write about) are also wonderful historical adventures. There is piracy involved! That was enough for me, but these books rock even if you don’t have a weakness for pirates. 

The Explosionist is alternate history rather than actual historical fiction, but I think it could appeal to some of the same people. It’s still 1938 Edinburgh, albeit in a world where Napoleon won at Waterloo. Sophie’s a great heroine, and this book is full of adventure and mystery and intrigue and all things awesome. 

Carol Matas has written a lot of historical fiction, with one of my favorites being Greater Than Angels. I posted about a bunch of her books here.

The Surrender Tree  is a powerful novel in verse about the Cuban struggle for independence. The publisher’s classification of this title as non-fiction is entirely misleading. Either way, it’s a marvelous book.

That’s certainly not all the fabulous historical fiction out there, but it’s a taste. Hopefully you’ll find something you love!

signature