I read a lot of books in 2008. I kind of lost count, especially near the end, unfortunately, but I certainly read a lot of good books, and some less-good ones, though, as a rule, I don’t generally finish the sucky books.

Even though a lot of the books I read were solidly good, and others truly great, only some really stood out to me for some reason or another, and this is a list of those books. I decided to limit myself to my favorite fifteen books of the year, and that is the list you see below (in the rough order I read them, not in preference order). These are books I loved and books that left some sort of mark. These may not be the objective best books, and they may not be the books I’d choose if I’d written this post at some other time, but as of right now, these are my favorite fifteen (as of 21 December). What’re yours?

  1. The Opposite of Invisible by Liz Gallagher
  2. A Little Friendly Advice by Siobhan Vivian
  3. Not Quite What I Was Planning: Six Word Memoirs by Writers Famous and Obscure
  4. Song of the Sparrow by Lisa Ann Sandell
  5. The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart
  6. I Wanna Be Your Joey Ramone by Stephanie Kuehnert
  7. Honeybee by Naomi Shibab Nye
  8. The Explosionist by Jenny Davidson
  9. On The Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta
  10. Paper Towns by John Green
  11. North of Beautiful by Justina Chen Headley
  12. I Love You, Beth Cooper by Larry Doyle
  13. Ten Cents A Dance by Christine Fletcher
  14. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
  15. The Comeback Season by Jennifer E. Smith

signature