I’ve decided to start participating in “In My Mailbox,” started by The Story Siren.

On Monday, I received a late package of Cybils nominees (late because we determined the shortlist for YA Fiction last night). All of these books had been read (not by me), though. In this package:

I Am Apache by Tanya Landman

The Ghost’s Child by Sonya Hartnett

The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing, Traitor To The Nation, Volume II: The Kingdom on the Waves by M.T. Anderson

Down Sand Mountain by Steve Watkins

I also got a review copy of In The Land of Invisible Women by Qanta A. Ahmed, M.D. The subtitle says this is “A female doctor’s journey in the Saudi kingdom.” Intriguing, no?

Finally, an ARC of No Such Thing As The Real World, short stories by six great authors about growing up, showed up in my mailbox. I can’t wait to read it!

On Tuesday, I got Let It Snow by Maureen Johnson, John Green, and Lauren Myracle, from Barnes and Noble.

On Wednesday and Thursday, nothing. I’m not actually sure the mail came on these days.

On Friday, I got Far From You by Lisa Schroeder, The Aelf Club: Unity by Stuart Brooke Richardson, Mackickeepers: The Eternal Hourglass by Erica Kirov, and Girl vs Bear: Stories From the ’80s by Lisa Kerr, all for review. I’m particularly looking forward to Lisa Schroeder’s book (but I already had an ARC, just hadn’t read it yet), as I loved her first novel, and Girl vs Bear because I feel like reading short stories sometimes, and it’s nice to have another option around. A good day! 

On Saturday, sadly, nothing. And that was my week in books (because the mail doesn’t come on Sunday so it would be some kind of miracle if something managed to show up in my mailbox). 

signature