The question:

btt button

But, enough about books … Other things have words, too, right? Like … songs!  

If you’re anything like me, there are songs that you love because of their lyrics; writers you admire because their songs have depth, meaning, or just a sheer playfulness that has nothing to do with the tunes.

So, today’s question?

  • What songs … either specific songs, or songs in general by a specific group or writer … have words that you love?
  • Why?
  • And … do the tunes that go with the fantastic lyrics live up to them?

You don’t have to restrict yourself to modern songsters, either … anyone who wants to pick Gilbert & Sullivan, for example, is just fine with me. Lerner & Loewe? Steven Sondheim? Barenaked Ladies? Fountains of Wayne? The Beatles? Anyone at all… 

The answer:

I’m a sucker for catchy sometimes, so this question’s a little difficult for me; a lot of my music definitely does not have awesome lyrics, just catchy. 

However, I do have a few songs to point out. 

Hallelujah,’ by…I really don’t know, I have several versions of this song, and I know there’s more. I’ve been listening to Kate Voegele’s a lot lately. Gorgeous, gorgeous song, both in terms of lyrics and music. 

Actually, now that I think about it, all of Kate Voegele’s original songs have lovely lyrics, too. I particularly love ‘Chicago‘ and ‘It’s Only Life.’  They’re poetic but not too obscure and vague, and her songs are also usually pretty universally relatable without being trite and overused. Her voice is beautiful, too. Seriously, if you’ve never heard her songs, you’re missing out on a lot

I also really, really love the lyrics to Sara Bareilles’s ‘Love Song.’ There are just so many turns of phrase here that I love. The song itself is both catchy and original, which is fantastic. 

Odio Por Amor‘ by Juanes has a catchy refrain, is in Spanish, and is just an awesome song. The lyrics are powerful, and the song is catchy, so what more is there to love?

Raise It Up‘ from the August Rush soundtrack is a strong, soulful song both in terms of the music (gorgeous voices) and the lyrics (powerful). Actually, I love this whole soundtrack; Jonathan Rhys Meyers’s songs on here are also particularly amazing.

Carol of the Bells‘ has always meant Christmas to me. I’ve been listening to Emmy Rossum’s version of this song a lot lately, even though it’s not Christmas. The lyrics and the music are both lovely and traditional without being boring, and I really can’t get enough of this song.

And…I suppose I could think of more, but this seems like a good number. All songs with great lyrics that I highly recommend. Although I don’t seem to be able to articulate my thoughts very well; it’s not often that I review song lyrics!

signature