I’m jumping on the bandwagon here by posting some of my most-looked-forward-to reads of 2008–check out links to lots of other posts at Chasing Ray, as well as her own list.

I couldn’t possibly cover them all in one blog post, so if you want to know more books I want to read (not just 2008 releases, either), check out my wishlist here (click the link at the top of the page) or my Amazon wishlist, both of which could stand to be updated. But I’ll go ahead and post about a few here!

I Wanna Be Your Joey Ramone by Stephanie Kuehnert sounds like a really fantastic book, and very music-centered. I love books about music. I’ve also read the author’s blog, and she sounds like a really cool person. This one is out in July.

 Stephenie Meyer’s The Host and Breaking Dawn both sound really fantastic. The first is a totally new book from her which sounds quite intriguing, and the second is the latest Twilight saga book, and I can’t wait to read more about Bella, Edward, and the rest of the characters (the rest of the characters most of all; Bella is whiny and Edward is annoying).

Curse As Dark As Gold by Elizabeth C Bunce is a very promising-looking fairy tale retelling (of Rumpelstiltskin). I love fairy tale retellings!

Peeled by Joan Bauer is by Joan Bauer, who is completely awesome. Need I say more?

The Fortunes of Indigo Skye by Deb Caletti is by an amazing author, and the premise sounds really interesting.

Ever by Gail Carson Levine is by one of my favorite authors ever, since the third grade, and just sounds, well, truly fantastic.

How To Build A House by Dana Reinhardt is another book from a favorite author.

The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart is another new book from a great author. Hmm. I’m sensing a trend here.

A trend that continues with Out of the Wild by Sarah Beth Durst.

I need to stop now or I’ll go on forever (which I truly could), but, seriously, there are some totally fantastic looking books coming out this year!